Up to $40/day + deposit up to $150 (maximums as printed)· #5
Book Now
Home & travel
Best Western Hotels & Resorts
Best Western
Pet Standings score
6.9/ 10 · editorial, when research is finished
Official pet-friendly page: over 1,200 pet-friendly hotels in North America. Up to two domestic dogs, 80 lb each. Max $40/day per room with pet(s). Refundable damage deposit up to $150. Policies vary; cats need hotel approval.
Up to $40/day + deposit up to $150 (maximums as printed)
Why it is listed
Best Western publishes a North America pet-friendly program: 1,200+ hotels, two dogs, 80 lb, as much as $40 a day and a $150 deposit. That is a ceiling on the brand page, not a quote from your exit. Cats are a phone call. This is not a uniform franchise contract.
Editor note
Ranked #5 in best pet-friendly hotel chains.
6.9/10
Pros & cons
Pros
- bestwestern.com/.../pet-friendly-hotels.html 2026-09-02: over 1,200 pet-friendly hotels in North America and over 2,100 worldwide. Pleased to welcome dogs to many hotels; many will accept cats, birds and other small animals — verify prior to stay; policies vary by hotel.
- Printed rules: pet-friendly hotels allow up to two domestic dogs in a rented room, maximum size 80 lbs per animal. Other pet types (cats, birds, monkeys, snakes, or other animals) at the property’s discretion with prior approval. There may be a maximum charge of $40 per day for each room with a pet or multiple pets. A refundable damage deposit of up to $150 per stay may be required. Call the hotel to guarantee a pet-friendly room.
- Page also tells you to get a health certificate/shots before air travel and pack a crate — travel tips, not a hotel vaccine rule we scored as +1 safety.
Cons
- Not every Best Western. Independently owned. Cats are not automatic. $40/day is a published maximum, not a promise it is $0.
- No leash, unattended, or service-animal section on this consumer pet page. Safety score is deposit/damage language only.
- Filter pet-friendly in search. Call that hotel. We do not invent a per-brand Best Western Plus vs Premier fee.
Score breakdown
Safety
3.0
Value
7.0
Ease
7.0
Quality
10.0
Overall
6.9
Specifications
BrandsBest Western pet-friendly hotels as a program (page does not split Plus/Premier fees).
FeeMaximum $40 per day per room with a pet or multiple pets. Refundable damage deposit up to $150 per stay.
Size Limit80 lbs per animal (dogs).
Pet CountUp to two domestic dogs.
SpeciesDogs stated. Cats/birds/other: property discretion, prior approval.
Service AnimalsNot specified on this pet-friendly hotels page.
UnattendedNot specified on this page.
ControlNot specified on this page.
FootprintOver 1,200 pet-friendly hotels in North America; over 2,100 worldwide.
AppsNot named on this page.
MsrpUp to $40/day as a printed maximum.
Score Notesquality 10. safety 3 = damage deposit only. ease 7 = locator + 1200; no app. value 7 = named max $40 + 80 lb/2 dogs; not first-free.
Others on this list
View all →We may be paid by companies we feature. This may influence rankings.




