Home & travel
Best Cat Trees & Scratchers
Cat trees and scratchers ranked from Catit and Prevue manufacturer pages by stability, height, sisal, and assembly
Filter results
Filter results
Showing 8 of 8
- 18.8Top pick
See price · Top pick
Top pick
See price
- Catit product page: 4-level furniture for large breeds or multiple cats (Maine Coon, Ragdoll, Norwegian Forest Cat, Siberian, Persian, Chausie named); cubed den with three openings; extra-wide platforms; extra-thick seagrass posts; three memory-foam cushions plus a round sisal scratching cushion; MDF with walnut-look laminate; hex key in the box for assembly and post swaps.
- Published size 53.7 × 35 × 25.2 in (H×W×D). Catit states a sturdy structure and a stable base to prevent tipping, and that nearly every part of the original High Base was enlarged by about 200% with moderated height.
SKU #52125: 4-level large-breed tower, extra-thick seagrass posts, sisal mat, hex key, and Catit’s spare-parts list.
This is the large-cat tree on the list: Catit published extra-thick posts, a wide base, and real replacement SKUs. You give up ceiling height. Buy it for platform size and serviceable sisal, not because a giant condo fixes scratching on the sofa by itself.
Open Catit Vesper High Base Giant listing →Pros
- Catit product page: 4-level furniture for large breeds or multiple cats (Maine Coon, Ragdoll, Norwegian Forest Cat, Siberian, Persian, Chausie named); cubed den with three openings; extra-wide platforms; extra-thick seagrass posts; three memory-foam cushions plus a round sisal scratching cushion; MDF with walnut-look laminate; hex key in the box for assembly and post swaps.
- Published size 53.7 × 35 × 25.2 in (H×W×D). Catit states a sturdy structure and a stable base to prevent tipping, and that nearly every part of the original High Base was enlarged by about 200% with moderated height.
- Spare-parts page lists numbered replacement tubes (#52223–#52225, Ø 4.9 in), plush cushions, and a Ø 9.5 in sisal pad. Instruction-manual page is on catit.com.
Cons
- No consumer USD on catit.com on 2026-09-02. We did not import Amazon/Chewy street prices into the score.
- 53.7 in is shorter than the 62–72 in towers on this table — Catit traded height for platform size.
- No wall-anchor kit is documented. A tree is not a substitute for enough scratchers in enough rooms (ASPCA scratching guidance).
Score breakdown
Safety8.0Value7.0Ease10.0Quality10.0Specs
- Maker
- Catit
- Sku
- #52125
- Msrp
- Not listed on catit.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 53.7 in
- Footprint
- 35 × 25.2 in
- Scratch
- Extra-thick seagrass posts + round sisal mat
- Assembly
- Hex key in box; official manual and spare-parts list
- Score Notes
- safety 8 = base dims + ≥500 sq in + large-breed/multi-cat + extra-thick (no wall kit). quality 10 = seagrass + extra-thick + spares + sisal mat + second texture. ease 10 = manual + hex + parts + wipe-clean/cushions + help page. value 7 = published height + ≥48 in + 4 levels (not ≥60).
- 28.3Best height (serviceable)
See price · Best height (serviceable)
Best height (serviceable)
See price
- Vesper Base series page: High Base XL is 62.2 × 22.8 × 30.5 in, 5 stories, hideaway plus lounging platforms, walnut-laminate look, extra-long seagrass posts, sisal pad, memory-foam cushions, replaceable parts, hex key for the Base family.
- Help & advice, assembly video/manual, and spare-parts pages are live for High Base XL on catit.com.
SKU #52060 walnut: 62.2 in, 5 stories, extra-long seagrass posts, sisal mats, and a published spare-parts list.
XL is the tall Catit you can actually re-rope from the spare-parts catalog. The base is narrower than Giant. If you want 5 feet of height without a 72-inch particle-board spike, this is the documented option.
Open Catit Vesper High Base XL listing →Pros
- Vesper Base series page: High Base XL is 62.2 × 22.8 × 30.5 in, 5 stories, hideaway plus lounging platforms, walnut-laminate look, extra-long seagrass posts, sisal pad, memory-foam cushions, replaceable parts, hex key for the Base family.
- Help & advice, assembly video/manual, and spare-parts pages are live for High Base XL on catit.com.
- Currently listed (not discontinued) on the U.S. English Catit furniture catalog.
Cons
- Footprint 22.8 × 30.5 in is enough for the ≥500 sq in band, but Catit does not publish a cat-weight cap or a wall-anchor kit on this SKU.
- No extra-thick / Giant-scale posts. Tall and serviceable is not the same as large-breed platforms.
- No list price on catit.com.
Score breakdown
Safety5.0Value9.0Ease10.0Quality10.0Specs
- Maker
- Catit
- Sku
- #52060 walnut
- Msrp
- Not listed on catit.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 62.2 in
- Footprint
- 22.8 × 30.5 in
- Scratch
- Extra-long seagrass posts + sisal pad
- Assembly
- Hex key; High Base XL manual/video and spare parts
- Score Notes
- safety 5 = base dims + ≥500 sq in. quality 10 = seagrass + extra-long + spares + mat + second texture. ease 10 = manual/video + hex + parts + clean + help. value 9 = height published + ≥48 + ≥60 + 5 stories (not ≥70).
- 37.5
See price · SKU #52045 walnut: 47.8 in, 4 levels, cubed den, extra-long seagrass posts, and the same replaceable-parts system.
SKU #52045 walnut: 47.8 in, 4 levels, cubed den, extra-long seagrass posts, and the same replaceable-parts system.
See price
- Series page: High Base is 47.8 in tall, 22.1 × 22.1 in, 4 levels, cozy cave, walnut/oak/black (#52045 / #52063 / #52046). Family features: MDF laminate, two-entrance cubed den, extra-long seagrass posts, sisal mat, memory-foam cushions, hex key, replaceable parts.
- High Base spare-parts page publishes cushion and tube SKUs (#52180, #52208, #52170 mat).
SKU #52045 walnut: 47.8 in, 4 levels, cubed den, extra-long seagrass posts, and the same replaceable-parts system.
The mid Catit: same serviceable posts as XL, less height, a slightly small base for the checklist. Fine for a one- or two-cat room that cannot take a 62-inch tower.
Open Catit Vesper High Base listing →Pros
- Series page: High Base is 47.8 in tall, 22.1 × 22.1 in, 4 levels, cozy cave, walnut/oak/black (#52045 / #52063 / #52046). Family features: MDF laminate, two-entrance cubed den, extra-long seagrass posts, sisal mat, memory-foam cushions, hex key, replaceable parts.
- High Base spare-parts page publishes cushion and tube SKUs (#52180, #52208, #52170 mat).
- Official 2025-12 walnut product still on catit.com.
Cons
- 47.8 in misses the ≥48 in height bonus on this rubric. 22.1 × 22.1 in base is 488 sq in — under the 500 sq in band.
- Multi-cat language is on the page; no numeric weight cap and no wall-anchor kit.
- No list price on catit.com.
Score breakdown
Safety5.0Value5.0Ease10.0Quality10.0Specs
- Maker
- Catit
- Sku
- #52045 walnut
- Msrp
- Not listed on catit.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 47.8 in
- Footprint
- 22.1 × 22.1 in
- Scratch
- Extra-long seagrass posts + sisal pad
- Assembly
- Hex key; High Base spare-parts and help pages
- Score Notes
- safety 5 = base dims + multi-cat language (base <500, no wall kit). quality 10 = seagrass + extra-long + spares + mat + second texture. ease 10. value 5 = published height + 4 levels (not ≥48).
- 47.4Best sisal trunk
See price · Best sisal trunk
Best sisal trunk
See price
- Treehouse page: Large is a 5-level activity tree, 28.3 × 22.6 × 64.1 in (W×D×H), extra-thick sisal scratching post, wooden branches for toys, fabric hideaway, hammock, memory-foam cushions, wipe-clean laminate, replaceable pads/posts/cushions.
- Official Large product still (Vesper-Treehouse-Large.jpg) and a Large assembly PDF linked from the instruction-manual page.
SKU #52117: 5-level, 64.1 in tree with one extra-thick sisal trunk, hammock, hideaway, and replaceable parts.
A real sisal trunk with a hammock, not a carpeted apartment stack. Tall enough to matter. You get fewer scratch faces than Giant/XL, and Catit did not print a hex key on this page.
Open Catit Vesper Treehouse Large listing →Pros
- Treehouse page: Large is a 5-level activity tree, 28.3 × 22.6 × 64.1 in (W×D×H), extra-thick sisal scratching post, wooden branches for toys, fabric hideaway, hammock, memory-foam cushions, wipe-clean laminate, replaceable pads/posts/cushions.
- Official Large product still (Vesper-Treehouse-Large.jpg) and a Large assembly PDF linked from the instruction-manual page.
- Catit copy calls out a thick natural post at the center — one post you can actually wrap, not ten thin poles.
Cons
- One primary sisal trunk. There is no second sisal mat called out the way the High Base line lists a pad.
- The Treehouse product page does not state a hex key in the box (High Base does). Tools are not a free point.
- No published cat-weight cap or wall-anchor kit. “Super sturdy” in the meta description is not a tip test.
Score breakdown
Safety6.0Value9.0Ease8.0Quality7.0Specs
- Maker
- Catit
- Sku
- #52117
- Msrp
- Not listed on catit.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 64.1 in
- Footprint
- 28.3 × 22.6 in
- Scratch
- Extra-thick sisal center post
- Assembly
- Official Large PDF; replaceable parts; hex key not stated on the product page
- Score Notes
- safety 6 = base dims + ≥500 sq in + extra-thick post. quality 7 = sisal + extra-thick + spares (no extra mat, not ≥3 posts). ease 8 = PDF + parts + wipe-clean + help (no stated hex). value 9 = height + ≥48 + ≥60 + 5 levels.
- 55.3Best footprint
See price · Best footprint
Best footprint
See price
- Prevue PDP: 64 L × 46 W × 56 H in; four hideaways (penthouse, mid, two lower) plus hammock; three isolated scratching posts described as sisal-covered and jute-covered; step-by-step assembly instructions included; UPC 048081072400.
- Published capacity: four to five cats, up to 15 lb each. Official zoom product photo on prevuepet.com.
Model 7240: 56 in high on a 64 × 46 in footprint, four hideaways, three sisal/jute posts, assembly sheet included. Up to five cats, 15 lb each.
The wide one. Prevue put a 56-inch tree on a 64-by-46-inch floor and wrote a 15 lb × 5 cat cap. It is not a spare-parts tree. If you have floor and several small cats, that is the documented pitch.
Open Prevue Catville Tower 7240 listing →Pros
- Prevue PDP: 64 L × 46 W × 56 H in; four hideaways (penthouse, mid, two lower) plus hammock; three isolated scratching posts described as sisal-covered and jute-covered; step-by-step assembly instructions included; UPC 048081072400.
- Published capacity: four to five cats, up to 15 lb each. Official zoom product photo on prevuepet.com.
- Not marked Discontinued (unlike Play Tower 7362P on the same site).
Cons
- No replaceable-post catalog. When the jute peels, Prevue does not give you a Catit-style spare SKU on this page.
- No hex-key-in-box sentence. Assembly score is the included sheet only.
- 15 lb per cat is a real cap — large breeds are out. Dealer site, no consumer USD.
Score breakdown
Safety7.0Value7.0Ease3.0Quality4.0Specs
- Maker
- Prevue Pet Products
- Sku
- 7240
- Msrp
- Not listed on prevuepet.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 56 in
- Footprint
- 64 × 46 in
- Scratch
- Three sisal/jute posts
- Assembly
- Step-by-step instructions included; downloadable sheet
- Score Notes
- safety 7 = base dims + ≥500 sq in + 15 lb / 4–5 cat cap. quality 4 = named sisal/jute + ≥3 posts. ease 3 = assembly sheet only. value 7 = height + ≥48 + 2+ hideaways (not ≥60).
- 65.1
See price · Model 7366: 66.5 in, 32.5 × 23 in base, jute-wrapped posts, hideaway cave, hammock, day bed, assembly sheet.
Model 7366: 66.5 in, 32.5 × 23 in base, jute-wrapped posts, hideaway cave, hammock, day bed, assembly sheet.
See price
- Prevue PDP: 32-1/2 L × 26 W × 66-1/2 H in (base 32-1/2 × 23 in); ground hideaway, mid-level scratching panel, basket hammock, top day bed, jute-wrapped posts; materials list particle board, fabric, steel, jute rope, hardware; assembly sheet download; UPC 048081073667.
- Official zoom product photo on prevuepet.com. Not marked Discontinued.
Model 7366: 66.5 in, 32.5 × 23 in base, jute-wrapped posts, hideaway cave, hammock, day bed, assembly sheet.
Tall Prevue with a real hideaway-hammock-bed stack and a base that clears 500 sq in. Service and spare parts are the gap versus Catit.
Open Prevue Waterfall Trails Cat Tower 7366 listing →Pros
- Prevue PDP: 32-1/2 L × 26 W × 66-1/2 H in (base 32-1/2 × 23 in); ground hideaway, mid-level scratching panel, basket hammock, top day bed, jute-wrapped posts; materials list particle board, fabric, steel, jute rope, hardware; assembly sheet download; UPC 048081073667.
- Official zoom product photo on prevuepet.com. Not marked Discontinued.
- Height clears the 60-inch band on this rubric.
Cons
- No published cat-weight cap, no wall-anchor kit, no spare-post SKUs.
- Hex key is not named (hardware is). Assembly points stop at the sheet.
- No consumer USD. Particle board + jute is the usual condo stack, not Catit’s replaceable tubes.
Score breakdown
Safety5.0Value9.0Ease3.0Quality4.0Specs
- Maker
- Prevue Pet Products
- Sku
- 7366
- Msrp
- Not listed on prevuepet.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 66.5 in
- Footprint
- 32.5 × 23 in base
- Scratch
- Jute-wrapped posts + mid-level scratching panel
- Assembly
- Downloadable assembly sheet
- Score Notes
- safety 5 = base dims + ≥500 sq in. quality 4 = jute + second texture/panel. ease 3 = sheet only. value 9 = height + ≥48 + ≥60 + 4+ levels/hideaways.
- 74.1
See price · Model 7367: 72 in on a 19.25 in square base — tallest height on this table, penalized for that geometry.
Model 7367: 72 in on a 19.25 in square base — tallest height on this table, penalized for that geometry.
See price
- Prevue PDP: 22-1/2 L × 23-1/2 W × 72 H in; base 19-1/4 × 19-1/4 in; extra-large ground hideaway, dual-entry hideaway, platforms, two day beds, pass-through, jute-wrapped posts, plush toy; assembly sheet; UPC 048081073674.
- Full 72-inch height plus two hideaways is the maximum height band on this rubric.
Model 7367: 72 in on a 19.25 in square base — tallest height on this table, penalized for that geometry.
Six feet of condo on a 19-inch square. Prevue documented the height and the base; the checklist punishes that ratio on purpose. If you still want 72 inches, look for a wall-anchor tree we could not verify this pass (Frisco’s Chewy page was blocked).
Open Prevue Greycastle Estates Cat Tower 7367 listing →Pros
- Prevue PDP: 22-1/2 L × 23-1/2 W × 72 H in; base 19-1/4 × 19-1/4 in; extra-large ground hideaway, dual-entry hideaway, platforms, two day beds, pass-through, jute-wrapped posts, plush toy; assembly sheet; UPC 048081073674.
- Full 72-inch height plus two hideaways is the maximum height band on this rubric.
- Official zoom product photo. Not marked Discontinued (Play Tower 7362P on the same catalog is).
Cons
- 19.25 × 19.25 in base is 370 sq in under a 72-inch tower. Rubric −2 for height ≥60 in with base <400 sq in. Prevue does not publish a wall-anchor kit or a weight cap on this page.
- No spare-post program. Jute + particle board, inspect-daily warning.
- No consumer USD. Do not buy this SKU for “stability.”
Score breakdown
Safety1.0Value10.0Ease3.0Quality4.0Specs
- Maker
- Prevue Pet Products
- Sku
- 7367
- Msrp
- Not listed on prevuepet.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 72 in
- Footprint
- 19.25 × 19.25 in base
- Scratch
- Multiple jute-wrapped posts
- Assembly
- Downloadable assembly sheet
- Score Notes
- safety 1 = base dims (3) −2 for ≥60 in on <400 sq in base. quality 4 = jute + multiple posts. ease 3 = sheet. value 10 = height + ≥48 + ≥60 + ≥70 + hideaways.
- 82.9Best compact cardboard
See price · Best compact cardboard
Best compact cardboard
See price
- PIXI page: Tall #42511 is 17.7 × 9.2 × 22 in, 5.3 lb, replaceable cardboard #42512, oak-look facing, feathered ball on elastic, “wide wooden base” / “stable base to stay upright.”
- Official packaging photo on catit.com shows the retail cartons. Replacement cardboard is a numbered SKU, not a hope.
SKU #42511: 22 in cardboard scratcher, oak-look facing, wide base, feather toy, replaceable cardboard #42512. Not sisal.
A documented cardboard scratcher with a refill SKU. It is on this list so “scratchers” is not an empty word. It will not beat a sisal tree, and we did not pretend it would.
Open Catit PIXI Tall Scratcher listing →Pros
- PIXI page: Tall #42511 is 17.7 × 9.2 × 22 in, 5.3 lb, replaceable cardboard #42512, oak-look facing, feathered ball on elastic, “wide wooden base” / “stable base to stay upright.”
- Official packaging photo on catit.com shows the retail cartons. Replacement cardboard is a numbered SKU, not a hope.
- This is the compact scratcher on a trees-and-scratchers list — not a fake 72-inch condo.
Cons
- Cardboard is not sisal, jute, or seagrass. Quality/sisal score is 0 on this rubric by design.
- 22 in does not stretch a large cat the way a 32-inch sisal post would (SmartCat #3832 was skipped: pioneerpet.com captcha).
- No assembly PDF (small upright). Ease is the replaceable-cardboard program plus the help page — not a hex-key tower.
Score breakdown
Safety5.0Value3.0Ease3.0Quality—Specs
- Maker
- Catit
- Sku
- #42511 (cardboard refill #42512)
- Msrp
- Not listed on catit.com as of 2026-09-02
- Height
- 22 in
- Footprint
- 17.7 × 9.2 in
- Scratch
- Replaceable cardboard (not sisal)
- Assembly
- Upright unit; replacement cardboard SKU published
- Score Notes
- safety 5 = base dims + stable-base language. quality 0 = cardboard-only. ease 3 = replaceable-parts program + help page, no PDF/hex/cushions. value 3 = published height only.
Fifth researched Pet Standings ranking. Scores are a manufacturer-page checklist from catit.com and prevuepet.com — not Amazon stars…









