Health & insurance
Best Pet Dental Care Products
U.S. home dental care ranked from manufacturer pages and current VOHC lists -- toothpaste, chews, water additives. Brushing still matters…
Filter results
Filter results
Showing 6 of 6
- 17.8Top pick
$25.00 · Top pick
Top pick
$25.00
- petsmileusa.com Rotisserie Chicken Large PDP 2026-09-02: $25.00, in stock, 4.2 oz tube (filename/pack). Named Calprox (calcium peroxide) plus dicalcium phosphate dihydrate. Published ingredients: water, glycerin, dicalcium phosphate dihydrate, Calprox, vegan flavor, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, urea peroxide, citric acid, phosphoric acid, sodium benzoate, EDTA, cetyl pyridinium chloride, carbomer, potassium hydroxide, xanthan gum. Xylitol is not on that list.
- vohc.org current dogs list: Petsmile Professional Pet Toothpaste, plaque, consumer, seal 2011. The same page is not on the current cats VOHC table. PDP says the toothpaste is for a cat and/or dog of any size, pearl-size drop once or twice daily, and that puppies and kittens can use it. 30-day returns named. No subscription required.
VOHC-accepted (dogs, plaque) Calprox toothpaste for dogs and cats. Listed $25 for the 4.2 oz Large tube. Maker also names a no-brush apply path. Brushing still matters.
Buy this when you will actually put paste on teeth (or on a treat) and you want a current VOHC toothpaste listing plus a maker USD. It is not a dental under anesthesia. VOHC here is dogs/plaque, not cats and not tartar. Brush anyway.
Open Petsmile Professional Pet Toothpaste — Rotisserie Chicken Large listing →Pros
- petsmileusa.com Rotisserie Chicken Large PDP 2026-09-02: $25.00, in stock, 4.2 oz tube (filename/pack). Named Calprox (calcium peroxide) plus dicalcium phosphate dihydrate. Published ingredients: water, glycerin, dicalcium phosphate dihydrate, Calprox, vegan flavor, sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, urea peroxide, citric acid, phosphoric acid, sodium benzoate, EDTA, cetyl pyridinium chloride, carbomer, potassium hydroxide, xanthan gum. Xylitol is not on that list.
- vohc.org current dogs list: Petsmile Professional Pet Toothpaste, plaque, consumer, seal 2011. The same page is not on the current cats VOHC table. PDP says the toothpaste is for a cat and/or dog of any size, pearl-size drop once or twice daily, and that puppies and kittens can use it. 30-day returns named. No subscription required.
- PDP names a no-brush apply path (pearl on a treat or onto teeth) and still says for best results brush daily. We score the no-brush line as ease, not as a substitute for brushing.
Cons
- VOHC acceptance is dogs / plaque only. Do not read this as a cat VOHC seal or as a tartar seal. The PDP’s ‘only VOHC-accepted toothpaste’ and ‘#1 Veterinarian Dentist’ lines are marketing, not our proof. This page does not claim ADA acceptance — the current PDP talks VOHC, not ADA.
- A toothpaste is not anesthesia dentistry. Petsmile’s ‘clinically proven’ plaque language is the maker’s claim. We used the VOHC listing, not an unpublished trial.
- Large tube is $25; Small is sold separately on petsmileusa.com. Free shipping is advertised at $35+, so one tube may still pay shipping.
Score breakdown
Safety9.0Value8.0Ease6.0Quality8.0Specs
- Species
- Dogs and cats (PDP). VOHC: dogs, plaque only — not on the current cats table.
- Form
- Toothpaste, 4.2 oz Large, Rotisserie Chicken
- Active
- Calprox (calcium peroxide); CPC also listed
- Vohc
- Yes — Petsmile Professional Pet Toothpaste, dogs, plaque (vohc.org).
- Xylitol
- Not listed on the published ingredient list.
- Msrp
- $25.00 Large as listed 2026-09-02
- Score Notes
- quality 8 = US PDP + VOHC plaque + Calprox + paste form (not plaque+tartar). safety 9 = both species, no xylitol on list, pearl dose, non-chew, puppies/kittens named. ease 6 = brush paste + no-brush apply + chicken + 30-day returns. value 8 = $25 + 4.2 oz + no sub + $21–30 band.
- 27.7Best value
$15.99 · Best value
Best value
$15.99
- tropiclean.com 16 oz PDP 2026-09-02: $15.99, dogs + cats, 1 capful (15 mL / 1 tbsp) per 3 cups (24 fl oz) fresh water once daily. Also names a 33 oz bottle. Key ingredients listed: cetylpyridinium chloride, green tea extract, zinc gluconate, water, glycerin, citric acid, sodium benzoate. Xylitol is not on that list.
- vohc.org current dogs list: TropiClean Fresh Breath Dental Water Additive for Dogs, plaque, consumer, 2020 (Max Strength and several support SKUs are listed separately). This 16 oz ‘for Pets’ PDP is the standard Fresh Breath additive family. It is not on the current cats VOHC table.
VOHC-accepted (dogs, plaque) water additive for dogs and cats. Listed $15.99 / 16 oz. Tasteless. A water additive is not a dental and is not a substitute for brushing.
Cheapest official maker USD on this list and the easy bowl additive. Use it as an adjunct. It will not scale tartar off a tooth. Brush if the pet will allow it, and ask a veterinarian when breath or chewing changes.
Open TropiClean Fresh Breath Oral Care Water Additive for Pets 16 oz listing →Pros
- tropiclean.com 16 oz PDP 2026-09-02: $15.99, dogs + cats, 1 capful (15 mL / 1 tbsp) per 3 cups (24 fl oz) fresh water once daily. Also names a 33 oz bottle. Key ingredients listed: cetylpyridinium chloride, green tea extract, zinc gluconate, water, glycerin, citric acid, sodium benzoate. Xylitol is not on that list.
- vohc.org current dogs list: TropiClean Fresh Breath Dental Water Additive for Dogs, plaque, consumer, 2020 (Max Strength and several support SKUs are listed separately). This 16 oz ‘for Pets’ PDP is the standard Fresh Breath additive family. It is not on the current cats VOHC table.
- No subscription required. PDP tells new or sensitive-stomach pets to start at half the recommended amount. Lowest maker-listed USD on this ranking.
Cons
- A water additive is not a professional dental and is not a substitute for brushing. TropiClean’s ‘no brushing required’ and ‘clinically proven… 14 days’ lines are marketing. We scored VOHC plaque (dogs), not those percents.
- VOHC is dogs/plaque. Do not treat this bottle as a cat VOHC seal or as tartar acceptance. Cats that drink little water get little product.
- Cetylpyridinium chloride is an antiseptic; follow the capful dilution. Dump and refresh water daily as directed. Not a chew — and not a toothbrush.
Score breakdown
Safety9.0Value9.0Ease6.0Quality7.0Specs
- Species
- Dogs and cats (PDP). VOHC: dogs, plaque only — not on the current cats table.
- Form
- Water additive, 16 fl oz (33 oz also named)
- Active
- Cetylpyridinium chloride; zinc gluconate; green tea extract
- Vohc
- Yes — TropiClean Fresh Breath Dental Water Additive for Dogs, plaque (vohc.org).
- Xylitol
- Not listed on the published key-ingredient list.
- Msrp
- $15.99 16 oz as listed 2026-09-02
- Score Notes
- quality 7 = US PDP + VOHC plaque + CPC (not paste; not plaque+tartar). safety 9 = both species, no xylitol on list, capful dose, non-chew, start-half. ease 6 = additive + tasteless + 16/33 oz. value 9 = $15.99 + 16 oz + no sub + ≤$20.
- 37.3Best VOHC additive
See authorized retailers · Best VOHC additive
Best VOHC additive
See authorized retailers
- vohc.org current dogs list (May 2026): Virbac C.E.T AQUADENT FR3SH, plaque and tartar, consumer, 2026. That is the only water additive on this ranking with both plaque and tartar on the current dogs table. Not on the current cats VOHC table.
- us.virbac.com and vet-us.virbac.com 2026-09-02: dogs and cats. FR3SH = erythritol, inulin, pomegranate extract. Vet-US page: current formula does not contain xylitol (notes a small amount in a previous formulation). Actives per 5 mL: erythritol 100 mg, inulin 25 mg, pomegranate extract 1.75 mg. Mint aroma. Sizes named: 8.45 fl oz (250 mL) and 16.9 fl oz (500 mL).
VOHC-accepted 2026 (dogs, plaque and tartar) water additive for dogs and cats. Current formula: erythritol, inulin, pomegranate — maker says no xylitol. No consumer USD on virbac.com.
The additive with the current dogs VOHC plaque-and-tartar line and a written no-xylitol note. You still have to find it at a vet or retailer; Virbac does not publish a U.S. sticker price. It is still not a dental.
Open Virbac C.E.T. AQUADENT FR3SH Dental Solution listing →Pros
- vohc.org current dogs list (May 2026): Virbac C.E.T AQUADENT FR3SH, plaque and tartar, consumer, 2026. That is the only water additive on this ranking with both plaque and tartar on the current dogs table. Not on the current cats VOHC table.
- us.virbac.com and vet-us.virbac.com 2026-09-02: dogs and cats. FR3SH = erythritol, inulin, pomegranate extract. Vet-US page: current formula does not contain xylitol (notes a small amount in a previous formulation). Actives per 5 mL: erythritol 100 mg, inulin 25 mg, pomegranate extract 1.75 mg. Mint aroma. Sizes named: 8.45 fl oz (250 mL) and 16.9 fl oz (500 mL).
- Labeled daily dilution: cats 2.5 mL into 250 mL water; dogs 5 mL per 25 lb into 500 mL water. Change water daily. No subscription.
Cons
- Virbac does not list a consumer USD on the U.S. owner or vet PDPs. We do not invent a Chewy or clinic price. Value is capped without maker USD.
- A water additive is not a dental. It does not replace brushing or anesthesia dentistry when those are indicated. Not a cat VOHC seal.
- Contains FD&C Blue #1 and Yellow #5 per the vet-US inactive list. Some pets refuse tinted water. Follow the species dose; do not free-pour.
Score breakdown
Safety9.0Value4.0Ease6.0Quality9.0Specs
- Species
- Dogs and cats (PDP). VOHC: dogs, plaque and tartar (2026) — not on the current cats table.
- Form
- Water additive, 8.45 fl oz / 16.9 fl oz named
- Active
- FR3SH: erythritol, inulin, pomegranate extract
- Vohc
- Yes — Virbac C.E.T AQUADENT FR3SH, dogs, plaque and tartar (vohc.org 2026).
- Xylitol
- Maker (vet-US): current formula does not contain xylitol.
- Msrp
- Not listed on us.virbac.com / vet-us.virbac.com 2026-09-02
- Score Notes
- quality 9 = US PDP + VOHC plaque+tartar + FR3SH. safety 9 = both species, explicit no xylitol, weight dose, non-chew. ease 6 = additive + mint + two sizes. value 4 = no maker USD + named sizes + no sub.
- 46.5Best documented chew
See authorized retailers · Best documented chew
Best documented chew
See authorized retailers
- vohc.org current dogs list: C.E.T. VEGGIEDENT FR3SH Chews for Dogs, all sizes, plaque and tartar, consumer, 2020. Flex and Zen siblings are listed separately; this row is FR3SH.
- us.virbac.com FR3SH PDP 2026-09-02: dogs. Extra Small <11 lb (24 kcal/chew), Small 11–22 lb (48 kcal), Medium 22–66 lb (75 kcal), Large >66 lb (105 kcal). Plant-based, no animal-derived ingredients, gluten-free. Z-shape. Resealable pouches. Generally once daily. Talk with a veterinarian before changing dental care.
VOHC-accepted (dogs, plaque and tartar, all sizes) plant-based daily chew. Extra Small–Large weight bands and kcal/chew on the U.S. PDP. Monitor so the dog chews, not swallows whole.
The chew with published kcal, size bands, and a swallow-whole warning plus a current VOHC plaque-and-tartar line. Dogs only. Watch them chew. Count the calories. Still brush if you can.
Open Virbac C.E.T. VEGGIEDENT FR3SH Tartar Control Chews listing →Pros
- vohc.org current dogs list: C.E.T. VEGGIEDENT FR3SH Chews for Dogs, all sizes, plaque and tartar, consumer, 2020. Flex and Zen siblings are listed separately; this row is FR3SH.
- us.virbac.com FR3SH PDP 2026-09-02: dogs. Extra Small <11 lb (24 kcal/chew), Small 11–22 lb (48 kcal), Medium 22–66 lb (75 kcal), Large >66 lb (105 kcal). Plant-based, no animal-derived ingredients, gluten-free. Z-shape. Resealable pouches. Generally once daily. Talk with a veterinarian before changing dental care.
- PDP: you may give VEGGIEDENT when a puppy is eating solid food with ease, and ‘closely monitoring to ensure they are chewing the product and not swallowing it whole.’ That is the choking line we require on chews.
Cons
- Dogs only. Not a cat product. Not a substitute for brushing or for a dental under anesthesia.
- This owner PDP does not publish a full ingredient list, so we do not award the xylitol +2. Plant-based is not the same as a xylitol statement. No consumer USD on virbac.com.
- Calories are real food: 24–105 kcal per chew. Subtract from the daily ration. Palatability-trial copy on the page is marketing, not our score.
Score breakdown
Safety8.0Value4.0Ease4.0Quality9.0Specs
- Species
- Dogs only (weight-banded). Not for cats.
- Form
- Edible dental chew, Extra Small through Large, resealable pouches
- Active
- FR3SH technology; plant-based chew (mechanical + named FR3SH line)
- Vohc
- Yes — C.E.T. VEGGIEDENT FR3SH Chews for Dogs, all sizes, plaque and tartar (vohc.org).
- Xylitol
- Not stated on this PDP; full ingredient list not published here.
- Kcal
- XS 24 / S 48 / M 75 / L 105 kcal per chew
- Msrp
- Not listed on us.virbac.com 2026-09-02
- Score Notes
- quality 9 = US PDP + VOHC plaque+tartar + FR3SH. safety 8 = dog size bands + kcal + do-not-swallow-whole (no xylitol +2). ease 4 = chew + four sizes (no named flavor). value 4 = no maker USD + pouches/sizes + no sub.
- 56.2Best size lineup
See greenies.com / retailers · Best size lineup
Best size lineup
See greenies.com / retailers
- vohc.org current dogs list: Canine Greenies — five sizes, also FreshMint, Blueberry and Pumpkin Spice; plaque and tartar; Greenies-Mars; consumer; 2007. Regular Original is one of those five sizes. (Weight Management, Grain-Free, Hip and Joint, Aging Care, and Puppy are separate VOHC lines.)
- greenies.com Regular Original PDP 2026-09-02: feed 1 per day, dogs 25–50 lb. Size table on the same page: Teenie 5–15 lb, Petite 15–25 lb, Regular 25–50 lb. Not suitable for dogs less than 5 lb or less than 6 months. For each Regular treat, reduce the main meal by 88 kcal. Rawhide-free; bendable, won’t snap. Original flavor. Fresh water always available.
VOHC-accepted Canine Greenies family (plaque and tartar, five sizes). Regular is for 25–50 lb dogs; 88 kcal. Not for dogs under 5 lb or under 6 months. No list USD on greenies.com.
The familiar Original Regular chew with a current VOHC plaque-and-tartar family listing, 88 kcal, and a 25–50 lb band. Greenies.com does not publish a price. Size the chew to the dog. It is still a treat, not a cleaning under anesthesia.
Open Greenies Original Adult Dental Treats — Regular listing →Pros
- vohc.org current dogs list: Canine Greenies — five sizes, also FreshMint, Blueberry and Pumpkin Spice; plaque and tartar; Greenies-Mars; consumer; 2007. Regular Original is one of those five sizes. (Weight Management, Grain-Free, Hip and Joint, Aging Care, and Puppy are separate VOHC lines.)
- greenies.com Regular Original PDP 2026-09-02: feed 1 per day, dogs 25–50 lb. Size table on the same page: Teenie 5–15 lb, Petite 15–25 lb, Regular 25–50 lb. Not suitable for dogs less than 5 lb or less than 6 months. For each Regular treat, reduce the main meal by 88 kcal. Rawhide-free; bendable, won’t snap. Original flavor. Fresh water always available.
- Official pack shot hosted from greenies.com. No subscription required to use a chew.
Cons
- Dogs only. This SKU is Regular (25–50 lb), not the cat Greenies line (Feline Greenies are a separate VOHC edible treat). Chews can choke; this PDP did not include an explicit ‘supervise chewing’ sentence — we still treat supervision as common sense.
- No consumer USD on the greenies.com PDP (no offers/price in the product schema). We do not use Target/Amazon/Chewy numbers. Ingredient list is not fully published as text on this PDP, so no xylitol +2.
- Maker ‘47% less tartar / 40% less plaque in 28 days (Data on file)’ and ‘veterinarian-recommended’ are marketing. Holiday gingerbread language also appears in the schema description; the SKU we scored is Original Regular, not a seasonal flavor. A chew is not a dental.
Score breakdown
Safety6.0Value4.0Ease6.0Quality8.0Specs
- Species
- Dogs, Regular 25–50 lb (not cats; not <5 lb; not <6 months)
- Form
- Edible dental chew, Original, Regular size, daily
- Active
- Mechanical toothbrush-shape chew (no named enzyme on this PDP)
- Vohc
- Yes — Canine Greenies five sizes, plaque and tartar (vohc.org).
- Xylitol
- Not stated on this PDP; full ingredient list not in the page text.
- Kcal
- 88 kcal per Regular treat; subtract from the main meal
- Msrp
- Not listed on greenies.com 2026-09-02
- Score Notes
- quality 8 = US PDP + VOHC plaque+tartar (not a named chemical active; not paste). safety 6 = dog size/age exclusions + kcal (no xylitol +2; no supervise sentence). ease 6 = chew + Original + size table. value 4 = no maker USD + named size + no sub.
- 65.6Best dual-enzyme paste
See authorized retailers · Best dual-enzyme paste
Best dual-enzyme paste
See authorized retailers
- us.virbac.com and vet-us.virbac.com 2026-09-02: dual-enzyme system toothpaste for dogs and cats. Five flavors: poultry, malt, vanilla-mint, beef, seafood. 2.5 oz (70 g) tubes; poultry also in 12 g trial packets. No foaming agents; safe to swallow. Official poultry 600×600 pack shot on the owner PDP.
- Vet-US poultry ingredients include sorbitol, water, dicalcium phosphate, hydrated silica, glycerin, poultry digest, dextrose, xanthan gum, titanium dioxide, sodium benzoate, potassium thiocyanate, glucose oxidase, lactoperoxidase (may contain phosphoric acid). Xylitol is not on that list.
Dual-enzyme (glucose oxidase + lactoperoxidase) toothpaste for dogs and cats, 2.5 oz, five flavors, no foaming agents. Not on the current VOHC toothpaste list. No consumer USD on virbac.com.
The daily brush paste with named enzymes and a swallow-safe, no-foam formula for dogs and cats. It is not VOHC-accepted as a toothpaste on the current lists. You will buy it from a vet or retailer; Virbac does not list a U.S. price. Brushing still matters — this is the SKU that assumes you will brush.
Open Virbac C.E.T. Enzymatic Toothpaste listing →Pros
- us.virbac.com and vet-us.virbac.com 2026-09-02: dual-enzyme system toothpaste for dogs and cats. Five flavors: poultry, malt, vanilla-mint, beef, seafood. 2.5 oz (70 g) tubes; poultry also in 12 g trial packets. No foaming agents; safe to swallow. Official poultry 600×600 pack shot on the owner PDP.
- Vet-US poultry ingredients include sorbitol, water, dicalcium phosphate, hydrated silica, glycerin, poultry digest, dextrose, xanthan gum, titanium dioxide, sodium benzoate, potassium thiocyanate, glucose oxidase, lactoperoxidase (may contain phosphoric acid). Xylitol is not on that list.
- Virbac FAQ: vanilla-mint does not contain animal or grain proteins (useful if a veterinarian is running a food trial). This is the brushing-form SKU on the list — still the mechanical gold standard even without a VOHC toothpaste seal.
Cons
- Not on the current vohc.org toothpaste tables (Petsmile is the VOHC toothpaste on this ranking). We do not invent a VOHC seal from brand reputation.
- Requires a brush or finger brush. No consumer USD on virbac.com. ‘Most trusted’ / 30+ year brand copy is marketing.
- Poultry, beef, and seafood flavors contain animal digest — skip those during an elimination diet; use vanilla-mint per Virbac’s FAQ. A paste is not a dental under anesthesia.
Score breakdown
Safety9.0Value4.0Ease4.0Quality5.0Specs
- Species
- Dogs and cats
- Form
- Enzymatic toothpaste, 2.5 oz (70 g), five flavors
- Active
- Glucose oxidase and lactoperoxidase (dual-enzyme system)
- Vohc
- No — not on the current VOHC accepted toothpaste lists.
- Xylitol
- Not listed on the published poultry ingredient list.
- Msrp
- Not listed on us.virbac.com 2026-09-02
- Score Notes
- quality 5 = US PDP + dual enzyme + paste (no VOHC). safety 9 = both species, no xylitol on list, no-foam swallow-safe, non-chew, vanilla-mint allergy note. ease 4 = brush paste + five flavors. value 4 = no maker USD + 2.5 oz + no sub.
Eleventh researched Pet Standings ranking. Scores are a manufacturer-page plus vohc.org checklist — not Amazon stars, invented…






